Best Divorce Lawyers Louisville, KY Of 2024 – Forbes Advisor

The steps for filing for divorce in Kentucky are specific. Below is a brief overview of Kentucky divorce laws and requirements to get you started, but a skilled divorce attorney can navigate the process with you.

Contact any Louisville divorce lawyer on our list to answer precise questions about settlements and filing requirements impacting your divorce.

Kentucky Divorce Requirements

Either you or your spouse must live in Kentucky for six months (180 days) before you can file for divorce. You must also be separated or living apart for at least 60 days after you file before the divorce can be granted. Kentucky law defines “separation” as nonsexual cohabitation for couples who remain living together.

Types of Divorce and Separation in Kentucky

Kentucky is a no-fault divorce state—you don’t need to prove grounds for divorce or have your spouse agree to it for the petition to move forward. As long as

…

Best Divorce Lawyers Portland, OR Of 2024 – Forbes Advisor

Every state follows its own distinct rules and protocols for divorce proceedings, and Oregon is no exception. In this guide, we walk you through the ins and outs of securing a divorce in Oregon. You’ll learn how the state deals with issues like child custody, visitation rights, property division and alimony.

Oregon Divorce Requirements

To initiate a divorce in Oregon, you or your spouse must have lived in the state for at least six months. The filing should take place in the county where you or your spouse currently resides. Even if just one party resides in Oregon, the court can dissolve the marriage, though it might have limitations on issuing orders regarding financial obligations or property division for the non-resident spouse.

Oregon’s statutes also allow legal separations for couples who recognize their marriages as irreparably broken but choose not to pursue a divorce due to religious beliefs or other

…

Best Motorcycle Accident Lawyers San Francisco, CA Of 2024 – Forbes Advisor

Motorcycle accidents can be devastating, resulting in severe injuries and significant financial burdens. In California, victims have the right to file a lawsuit to recover damages including medical expenses, lost wages and pain and suffering. Understanding the intricacies of the legal process is crucial to building a strong case and maximizing compensation.

For even more in-depth discussion, check out our motorcycle accident guide.

California Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations is a law that sets the deadline by which legal proceedings may be initiated. In California, the statute of limitations for motorcycle accident claims is two years from the date of the accident. It’s important to adhere to this deadline as failure to do so generally results in the loss of your right to sue and recover damages. That’s why it’s crucial that you file your accident claim as soon as possible.

Identifying Fault for a Motorcycle Accident

Determining

…

Best Car Accident Lawyers Aurora, CO Of 2024 – Forbes Advisor

Each state has laws and regulations that car drivers should understand before and during operating their vehicles. Colorado has its own specific set of rules for car drivers.

Automobile insurance requirements: All drivers must carry liability insurance with specific policy limits required by the state. If you’re in an accident in which you were at fault, this insurance will cover the affected driver’s expenses related to bodily injuries, death and property damage.

Mandated minimum coverage includes:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death to one person per accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death to multiple persons per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage per accident

Drivers without proof of insurance can face fines over $500, license suspension and community service hours.

While this satisfies the insurance requirements mandated by law, we recommend purchasing higher limits to protect yourself and your assets in accidents where the damages may be higher than

…

Best Divorce Lawyers Atlanta, GA Of 2024 – Forbes Advisor

Georgia divorce laws are relatively simple. However, just because the laws are simple doesn’t mean the process is simple. The complexity of a divorce depends on several factors, and while filing for divorce is easy, every step after that can potentially be quite messy. The State of Georgia website recommends that everyone getting divorced be represented by Georgia divorce attorneys.

Georgia Divorce Requirements

To get a divorce in Georgia, you or your spouse must have been a resident of Georgia for at least six months before filing for a divorce. If you meet that requirement, you can petition the Clerk of your county’s Superior Court for a divorce.

Types of Divorce and Separation in Georgia

Georgia is a no-fault state, which means you can file for divorce without giving a specific reason. However, it also allows petitioners to claim fault when filing for divorce. Some examples of fault that a

…